Exercise and the Brain – Week 6 Story Critique

images

For this week’s digital story, I found something that is related to one of the articles included in my Reading Response.  It is called “Exercise and the Brain.”

What types of “involvement” – and by the author/creator(s), participant(s), and/or audience – are apparent in this story?

  • While there is only one narrator in this digital story, I am unsure if others were involved in its production.  For example in the researching of the topic and/or the creation of the graphics.
  • At the beginning of the video I got the impression that this was going to be a parody, or was going to poke fun at people who exercise.  This only lasted for a few frames, and eventually it was clear that this was meant to be an informative source about exercise and the effects on the brain.

How would you characterize the “literacy dimensions” present in this story?

  • This video combines audio with moving visuals to address the struggle that many people face when trying to exercise.  It was well researched and added fun and humor to a sometimes boring topic.

What are the online spaces and sites that bring this story to life? Why do these spaces and sites matter to the impact of the given story?

  • I found this video on YouTube when searching for something related to Brain Health.  Given the light heartedness of the video I could imagine seeing it on sites visited by students or families as a way to encourage knowledge about exercise.
  • The video was created by WellCast, which I had never heard of before this.  Doing a little searching I find that they have several social media sites and a newsletter that you can sign up for.
  • I really liked that this video added a sort of challenge to its viewers.  The narrator asks viewers to keep a “Well Cast Journal” and write in it after the 30 minute workouts.  This is an effort to keep track of improvements in their mental and physical feelings.  This would be a perfect thing to keep track of online, perhaps in a blog!

Based upon your assessment of involvement and literacy dimensions, what modifications and changes to this digital story might improve aspects of narrative, production, media usage, and/or audience engagement?

  • As I mentioned earlier, I was thrown off when I first hit play by the mood of the video.  I quickly realized that it was a very informative and fun video.  I believe that if I had been a follower of WellCast’s social media prior to this I would have expected this approach to teaching about exercise.
Leave a Reply

